RSS

Why I won’t leave my births up to chance

11 Jan

This is a great article by The Feminist Breeder.  She totally explains how I feel about why you have to prepare for a natural birth, and what you can do to get the birth you want.  I didn’t do the courses she recommends, but I read sooooo many good quality birth books while pregnant, which of course has an impact on your mental preparation.  Birth is probably the most vulnerable time in a woman’s life, and I don’t think you can be too prepared.
 
[edit] I’ve had to take down most of this article, as apparently having more than 100 words on here would actually violate her copyright and impact on her income.  And I don’t want to do that!  So to read her fantastic article go to her blog!
 

Why I Won’t Leave My Births Up to Chance

http://thefeministbreeder.com/why-i-wont-leave-my-births-up-to-chance/
May 29th 2010

The Feminist Breeder came across a Mumma’s website where she was asking people if they thought she was crazy for wanting a natural birth…

“There were around a dozen interviews with different mothers, and every single one of the moms supported her decision to have a natural birth. In fact, every single one of the moms said they had planned to go natural as well.  However, out of all the moms, only ONE mentioned taking a 12-week intensive natural birth class only that mom actually reported getting the birth she wanted.

Coincidence? I think not.

What happens during a woman’s birth is not all up to chance. Maybe some of it, but certainly not all of it.”

To read the rest of this article go to The Feminist Breeder’s website: http://thefeministbreeder.com/why-i-wont-leave-my-births-up-to-chance/

 

One response to “Why I won’t leave my births up to chance

  1. The Feminist Breeder

    January 12, 2012 at 12:10 am

    Hi – thank you for reading my blog and sharing my story. I have to ask you, however, to remove my text from here. It’s totally fine to post a link, but copying the entire blog post and pasting it here is actually a copyright violation and hurts my income. You probably didn’t know, but it’s a big blogger faux pas. Feel free to delete my comment after you remove the text from the post. I just needed to let you know.

     

Leave a Reply

 
